Today was the 2014 Bafta awards which I watched as I am such a film freak. The first time I watched this award show was in 2009 when the hurt locker won best film. Usually, I always think that the bafta chose the wrong winners but this year, I was happy with who won.

Best film went to 12 years a slave. I have not had the opportunity to see this film yet but I have spoken to people who have and they had said that this film was extraordinary. Best director went to Alfonso cuaron for gravity. I was so happy that he won this award because I loved his work ever since he directed the 3rd harry potter film which is the best out of all of them. He has a way of directing a film which makes people want to be engaged and lets them understand the whole process of the character’s journey.

Best Actor went to Chiwetel Ejiofor in 12 years a slave. I have clips of this film and I have to say that that this actor was incredible as Solomon. You could see the pain in his eyes when he played the character to show his emotion and how he was suffering as a slave. Best Actress went to Cate Blanchett in Blue Jasmine. She was amazing as the mentally unstable Jasmine. I had only seen her in Lord of the rings before this role but after seeing her in this film, I now know that she can do anything. I also loved the fact that she dedicated her award to the late Philip Seymour Hoffman. He was really an amazing actor and will be missed.

Best Supporting Actor went to the well deserved Barkhad Abdi in Captain Phillips. I still haven’t seen this film but I have seen clips and i know that this actor did an incredible job as the Somali pirate. Best Supporting Actress went the the amazing Jennifer Lawrence. I have been a fan of hers since I saw her in X-Men First Class and when I saw her performance in this film, I knew that she would get nominations for her performance. She is an amazing actress and she has more great films to come.

Best Animation Film went to Frozen. This film has got to be the best Disney film that is out there now and it is not because of the songs. It is mainly because of how the ending is compared to most fairy tale stories. I think that this film is inspiring to all women out there. There were more awards out there like the public voted award Best rising Star which went to Will Poulter and so many more put there are a lot of them.

