This was a film that I was a bit sceptical about. I wanted to see it because it was a Hunger Games but I wasn’t that bothered about it because compared to the other books, this one was the most boring one out of all of them. I was lucky enough to go to a Super Ticket screening of this film a day before it came out nationwide.

This film is basically right after Catching Fire where Katniss is in District 13 and dealing with post dramatic stress. She is the centre of the rivalry.

I have to say that after watching this film, I loved it even more than the book. Francis Lawrence has done an amazing job for those fans that don’t like the third book. It was good to see a hero deal with post dramatic stress. This makes the film more realistic as supposed to a hero that always fights and wins without thinking about how they got to their position and in this case, it is by killing. The only film that I have seen the post dramatic stress in is Iron Man 3 but it wasn’t into that much depth like this one. A lot of people will think that this is the worst film of them all and I understand. It is mainly just about politics whereas the first two was more about the games and the violence of the games.

There were moments in this film where I could feel for this character and see that she never wanted this, all she wants is to keep her family, Gale and Peeta safe. I like the fact that again, they haven’t gotten people so attached to the love story because there is another story, trying to make Katniss a symbol of hope and show people that they can change the world only if they fight back.

This film also talks about how someone has been put into in the public eye just because they have done something against rules and have been made to say things that they wouldn’t say. It makes us think of some celebrities and how we always expect to see them and hear them say something while also seeing them as hope for us to be the best person we could be.

Jennifer Lawrence is an incredible actress. Always have been and always will be. I loved seeing how Peeta has changed from this nice boy into a broken man. I will always haunt me seeing him this way. This is Josh Hutcherson’s best performance yet. I also loved Elizabeth Banks’ Effie Trinket. She livened up the movie when needed and it was good to see how she is dealt with in district 13 compared to the books.

Even though this film was good, the strong points come from the ending because that’s when most people start to become more engaged with the story and its dramatic moments. It is the edge of your seat moment that everyone has been waiting for which you don’t get a lot of in this film. I was also surprised that it had comedic moments.

Ever since Francis Lawrence came into this film, he has added a mixture of genre to this film which make it into a light-hearted movie when needed, action packed and dramatic throughout.

Overall, this is a great film if you are just looking for a political story and a more in depth story about the characters but if you are looking for more action, then I am afraid that this might bore you but don’t stop watching it if you love the franchise. Be prepared to see it and then wait for the last film, it’s going to be an action-packed and emotional ride, I am sure of it.

I have given this film a 8.9/10. It is still not as great as the first two but it is still very good and I can’t wait to see the final film for the epic conclusion to an epic film.

P.S. Jennifer Lawrence’s singing in the film is amazing. She has a wonderful voice (sort of a jazzy voice which makes the song dark and haunting) and it is a song that you won’t be able to get out of your head.

If you like this review or any other review that I have done, you can feel free to leave comments below and also suggest films that I should review.

