This year has been a great year for films. There were some that came out that I anticipated to be good and meet my expectations. There were also films that I didn’t expect that much from which blew my mind. This year, I decided to do a top five. Not because there was a lot of films that I loved, because there were a lot of movies that I didn’t hate. Before I start this list, here are a few honourable mentions:

The Grand Budapest Hotel
Every since I had watched a Wes Anderson films, I have been hooked and this film was no exception. I never got to watch this in the cinema as I had been busy when the film was released. Lucky, someone had brought the DVD when it was released so I was able to watch it.


This Wes Anderson film was incredible. It had comedic and dramatic moments throughout. Everybody was great in this film which made it hard to pick a bad performance. It has an amazing set production that can only be found in Anderson’s films and it made me wish that this hotel was real. It has a great story which I won’t spoil as it is better to not know anything when going into the film as it will surprise you. It is a film that I would love to relive again and I also think it is one of the most unappreciated films of this year. This is why I am glad that it has been nominated for as many Oscars as it has. I have given this an 8/10 and recommend to anyone who appreciates films and is also a huge fan of Anderson as

The Imitation Game
This was a great film about how we won the Second World War with the enigma code and who created it.


It had an additional surprising story about how Alan Turing was arrested for being homosexual because it was illegal in those days. Benedict Cumberbatch does a terrific performance as Alan and 2014 was his year. The other cast members in the film were fantastic and show the best of the up and coming British actors. I have given this film a 9/10.

Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes
I loved the first one so I was excited to see the second.


It is a great adventure film and keeps you at the edge of your seat. It talks a lot about family and what is the best way to keep them safe. This is something that Caesar is questioned on throughout the film because at times, it seems like he cares more about the humans than his own breed. If you have watched the first movie, you know that this is because he was brought up by a human and knows that not all of them are bad. Andy Serkis gives an amazing performance and it is sad that the Oscars have not recognised him and the team behind motion cap for their work . Hopefully they will one day but until then, we will just focus on the Saturn awards.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1
Hunger Games is probably one of the best young adult film adaptations out there so, of course I was going to see the third one.

It has a fantastic story and incredible actors. It also gives a voice for girls out there saying that we don’t have to be damsels in distress all the time. We can actually be the hero for once. It also talks about one of the things that happen after you have been in a horrific war and what you have to deal with afterwards which is post dramatic stress. This made the movie feel more real compared to other young adult dystopian films. The film has a growth from the previous two that I admire and would love to watch again. I will give this movie an 8.9/10

5. X-Men: Days Of Future’s Past
This movie was going to be number 2 on this list but after thinking long and hard about it, I feel like it would have been in that position for all the wrong reasons.

The main reason that I love this movie so much is because it has a incredible scene from Quicksilver and it was great to see the old and new cast members together in this one film. There isn’t really that many stand out moments in this film but that doesn’t mean that it shouldn’t get a spot in my top five. It has great action like most superhero films out there and it also has a great message for people who feel like outcasts. Just because someone portrays your character as a certain stereotype, doesn’t mean that you have to become that person. You can be whoever you want to be in the end of the day because you are your own person. This is why I think that this movie is great and deserves an 8/10.

4. The Fault In Our Stars
This is a film based on a popular book of the same name which I have read myself.

Sometimes when you watch movies based on a book adaptations, they don’t do the original source material justice but this one did. The felt as if the author was directing the film himself, just like what The Perks of Being A Wallflower author did. This is one that has stand out performances particularly from Shaliene Woodley and this is one that I have revisited 3 times now. It also has a story that inspired me to write my own. I have given this film a 10/10 and I will stick to this score for infinity times infinity.

3. Guardians of the Galaxy
At first, I thought about putting this film in the number 5 spot but after watching it again, I knew that I had to go higher than that which is why it is tied at number 3.


This film is a great addition to the marvel cinematic universe. It is a movie that I have recently re-watched and enjoy even more especially the music. It’s what creates this film as well as the comedic charm that it has. The visual effects are spectacular and nothing like anything I’ve seen. The concept is great even though the villain is weak but that’s how marvel films are. They focus more on the main characters storyline than on creating the perfect villain and this time, I can actually forgive them. I love that they have brought everything from the 80s and 70s back such as the Walkman and music making it an vintage film that will hold up and live for a long time. I can’t wait until the sequel comes out and when we get to see the characters combine with the Avengers. It’s going to be epic. I have given this film an 8/10.

3. Chef
Jon Favarou is the guy that started the marvel cinematic universe with Iron Man. He is the most popular up and coming directors who could do any film that he wanted and he chose to create this masterpiece of a movie.


It is a great film about a chef who gets a bad review and gets fired. He then decides to go back to his roots by creating a food truck that sells Cuban food and travel all over the US. It makes me appreciate chefs more and the work that they put into the food because when you go to a restaurant, you just order your food, finish eating and leave but you don’t notice the effort that is put into it. This is why critics can sometimes be harsh because for some chefs, this is their life. It also shows that you should never forget how you started in the first place because its what helps you become respected in the long run. This movie also made me hungry while watching it so it may be one of the reasons why I love it so much and why it is in my top 5. Nonetheless, this is still a great film to watch and is getting a 9/10.

1. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
This is set right after The Avengers and is the sequel to Captain America

If you know me, you know that I love action movies so it is no surprise that this one is number 1 on my list for the best film of 2014. I have watched this film twice and even though I know what is going to happen, I always stay engaged throughout. It is so good that I can’t even pick my favourite scene from this entire movie. It should’ve been the highest grossing film of 2014 because it is the best. The visual effects were incredible. Marvel have really upped their game since the first Iron Man movie and in my opinion, I think that this is the best one that they have ever made. It also made Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D a better show and shook the Marvel Cinematic Universe. This is not just a movie with great action, it also has a great story on who you can trust in this world. Like they say ‘Keep your friends close and your enemies closer’.

I know that I gave this film an 8/10 but after watching it the second time, I would have to put my score up and say that this deserves a 9/10.

