This is the second time that I have reviewed the BAFTAs on this blog. Since the first time I had watched it, I was in love with this award show. This year was different. I didn’t feel as excited as I was all those years ago. Maybe all the hype was gone or maybe it was around the time that I had a deadline coming up for coursework. I don’t know.

 Anyway, the awards for the night were decently good. The Lego movie, the film that got snubbed by the Oscars won for best animation. For me, I don’t think that it is the best animation for 2014 but it was good. Patricia Arquette won for best supporting actress for her amazing performance in Boyhood. The award that I was excited to see, supporting actor was given to J.K. Simmons as the ruthless teacher in Whiplash. A performance that I love more and more, every time I watch it.

Best Actress was given to Julianne Moore in Still Alice, a film that I have still yet to see. Best actor was given to Eddie Redmayne for the theory of everything, a movie about the love story of Jane and Stephen Hawking. This was a hard category to figure out who was going to win as there were a lot of incredible male actors in 2014.

Richard Linklater won best director for boyhood. This was well deserved because it is something that we have never seen in cinema before, a story filmed over 12 years. It took cinematic experience to a whole new level. The big award, best film went to Boyhood. The speech given by the main actor who plays the boy was emotional. You knew how much this meant to him as it is something that was part of his life growing up. This movie also shouldn’t have won because it is overrated and is something that is only at that position based on its achievement. I feel that either Birdman or Whiplash should have won.

In all, the awards were ok. Nothing really special because we are halfway into award season. This makes it easier to know what is going to happen.

