When I first heard that they were making a live action movie based off the Disney animated film Cinderella, all I could think of was ‘Oh no. Not again. We already had two live action Snow Whites.  Both of them weren’t great but one had more action than the other.’ We also had a red riding hood movie that wasn’t interesting ( mainly because it was made by the same director who directed twilight). Disney have already done a live action movie based on one of their beloved villains which spoiled the original source material (cough* malificent*cough). In the end, I thought that I should at least try and watch the movie.


This is a retelling of an original classic Cinderella. In this story, Ella has to deal with her new stepmother and stepsisters after the death of her mother. When her father goes out for work, she has to deal with the mistreatment she gets from her step family while still having hope that good things can come for good people.

I got there three minutes late but it was ok because I hadn’t missed that much( just the frozen short that I was sort of interested in). The movie as a whole was alright. The costumes looks amazing. Sandy Powell has a great artistic vision for the costume. The set looks incredible. A bit fake but incredible. I think that the modification of Cinderella’s glass slipper is the best design in this movie. I like that they added butterflis to it and it makes the character even more special than she was before.

It was great to have a bit of a back story for the character Cinderella and her family before the step mother came into her life. This is because in the disney movie, it just starts a day before the ball so we don’t get any background feature. I still prefer the original even though I am not a big fan of disney princesses. Especially the scene when they destroy Cinderella’s dress. It is more horrifying in the animation rather than the live action. It felt like they didn’t want to take it any further because they don’t want people to love it more than the animation.

I like that the Prince and Cinderella had actually met before the ball. It made us at least except the fact that they had got married after a short time because they got to know a bit more about each other and it wasn’t just based on the looks. It has a great moral in the movie about being kind hearted and good things will happen. I didn’t like the fact that they wanted her name to be Ella and make as if the sisters named her Cinderella to be cruel. It just took me out of the character for a bit.

Cate Blanchett does an amazing job as the step mother. I think that Lily James was the perfect candidate for Cinderella. She brought the character to life and I think that other than Brandy, she is the best Cinderella.

While I was watching this movie, there was something that I had noticed about one particular character and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Cinderella is actually crazy. I mean, she talks to mice and herself most of the time. She thinks that everything is perfect even when it is not and she just jumps into song whenever. Some people might think that she is nice as sweet but I was just thinking the whole time that if I actually met her in real life, I would just think that she is mad. Everyone would need to stay clear from her.

Anyway, I have given this movie a 7/10. It was a great watch and I think that if Disney intend to make any of their beloved characters into live action, they should take a page from this book.

