This year, I got the opportunity to volunteer for the BFI London Film Festival and so far, it has been the best experience of my life. Sadly, I can’t work everyday because of schedules and there are a lot of volunteers this year so they have to split it between our availability. Thankfully, we still get to enjoy the movies that they show at the event and today, I got a chance to watch one of them.

  
In 1947, Dalton Trumbo was Hollywood’s top screenwriter. That all changed when he and a couple of people in the industry got jailed for being a communist. Now he has to find a way to put his work out there whilst not getting caught from the people that dragged him down. 

To be honest, I only heard about this film a day before I went to see it. The concept seemed interesting and recently, i have become a fan of true stories. This movie was excellent. I was drawn into it after 2 minutes. It’s sad what Trumbo and the other screenwriters had to go through. Just because they didn’t believe in something that most Americans did at the time. It even effected his work and relationship with his family. For me, I always judge people by their work, especially if they haven’t committed a crime. Just because I may not like the person or have the same beliefs, doesn’t mean that I should ignore the wonderful work they do.

For the first time ever, this was a movie that felt long but I enjoyed so much, not wanting it to end. I’ve never actually seen any of Bryan Cranston’s work (apart from Godzilla but that was a small role) but after watching this, I know that he is a terrific actor and deserves an Award for his portrayal as Trumbo. Louis C.K was fantastic. I’ve always seen him in comedic roles and even though he had a few comedic timings here and there, his dramatic side was great. Helen Mirren was amazing, although I can’t quite get into her American accent.

This was a great film that I was glad to see before its release in January. It deserves an 8/10.

