This is the fifth movie that I have watched in the festival. I have been a fan of Brie Larson since Short Term 12 and I was excited to watch this movie just for her.

  
The movie is about a mother and her 5 year old son who are trapped in a room. All they know is that environment until one day, they finally escape. Now they have to evolve in a world that the mother hasn’t seen for years and the boy doesn’t know anything about.

This movie was intense. Its hard to imagine being locked in a room for many years and trying every day to make everything seem like it’s perfect, especially when you have a child. 

Watching this film just made me think about all those women who have been kidnapped and impregnated by men with no way of escape expected through their own child. You can tell that their children give them the strength for hope. Hope that they will be rescued one day and are able to see their loved ones. I was surprised to see the aftermath of them being rescued. It was interesting because the whole time, we felt as if we were them, either the mother or the child because we don’t get to see the outside world until they do.
I can’t imagine what it must be like to be a child that hasn’t seen the outdoors and hasn’t been in contact with anyone apart from your mother. Brie Larson does a terrific job as always and I hope that she gets an Oscar for ether this or any movies she has out in the future which are drama. She is an underrated actor. The little boy in this movie was fantastic. He will definitely get a young Hollywood award.

In the end, I was glad that I did everything in my power to be able to see this because it is a must see.I have given this movie an 8.5/10.

P.S. If you’ve never watch Short Term 12, what are you waiting. Get it on DVD, Blu Ray or digital format and watch it now. It’s incredible.

Update 11th January 2016: Love this film even more after watching it the second time. 9.5/10

