I really wanted to watch this film at the BFI festival but couldn’t because it was sold out. In the end, I wasn’t bothered by the fact that I missed it because it would be released in 5 days. When it finally came out, I had to watch it a week later because I was busy. It was also in the evening and I usually don’t like watching movies in the cinema late because I’m usually tired. At the end of the day, this is what I had to do.

Suffragette is about the women in the UK who fought for their right to vote. It focus on one particular character and her story, representing most women in that time.

I had high expectations for this movie and even though it didn’t meet them, it was still good. Women had a lot to deal with at that time with working in factories at a young age just to gain some money in their household, sexual assaults, not having custody of their child etc.

Carey Mullegun is excellent. Helena Bonham Carter was good and so was Anne-Marie Duff. Meryl Streep wasn’t in it for long but character was a major part of the movement because she is the leader.
If you know the history, you would know that a certain death had an effect on how they changed the law and it’s really sad that something like that needs to happen before any changes occur.The movie is a bit slow with some unnecessary scenes that could be cut out. This makes it not as perfect as it should be.

Before I watched Suffragette, I read an article about race in the movie. Someone mentioned the fact that only one race is represented. Usually, I don’t let this get into my head but I couldn’t help but think about this during Suffragette. Mainly because at the same time, there were British Indian women fighting for their right to vote. I think this could have had an affect on how I perceive the movie.
It was good they had listed the countries and years they were able to get vote for women but I wish they could’ve done more, especially for different race who lived in the UK.

In the end, this is actually a great movie to watch and talks about history.I have given Suffragette a 6.5/10.

