Since the first movie, I have been following this franchise. It’s a series that made me go back to reading books again. It inspires a young generation and tells us that we have a voice. This year has been great for me because I managed to go to a press conference for the movie and watch the movie a day before it officially comes out. 

  
This is a continuation of the the last movie where everything comes to an end. The big finale.

I really enjoyed this movie. It was a great conclusion to an incredible series. The movie starts straight away, as if there was no part one and part two, just one movie as a finale. As someone who has read the book, I know a few pointers of what may happen but not enough to justify the whole story so it felt like I was learning something new each time. I was feeling anger when needed and sadden when I was supposed to ( especially the scene with Katniss and the cat which made me tear up). 

Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson’s performance were the standouts for me. It’s scary to see Peeta the way he is. The Capital corrupt him and turned him into something that he is not. All he is trying to do is find out what is real or not real. Katniss is trying to find out how to kill Snow and keep the innocent alive because she knows it not their fault. It’s like the Hunger Games where they are forced to kill people by a greater power. Donald Sutherland’s character was menacing, even when he wasn’t on camera and that is an effective villains. He knows that even though he might have accomplished something, it is still not over.
I have tried not to put a spoiler in this review but I’m afraid that I have to talk about a minor one. So, if you don’t want to be spoiled, I suggest you skip this section. …………

You have been warned.

The ending felt like Deathly Hallows Part 2 and not in a good way because I didn’t like the villain death scene in that film. This one is a bit stronger but the feeling is still there. You think about this big epic ending and when it comes, you go “meh.That was ok”. It could be because it was split into two movies which was unnecessary or the fact that I read the book so I wasn’t as surprised as I was supposed to be. When I watched the epilogue , I was happy that the series ended. Not in a way that I thought it was bad but in the way that the whole series was satisfying and now, it’s time for it to end. 

I’m going to miss this franchise but I’ll remember for the rest of my life because it gives young people a voice, especially young women that we affect this future and we are smart. Like they say in The Help, “you is smart, you is kind, you is important”( I know the grammar is poor but you understand where I’m going here)

This movie deserves its 8.5/10. Thank you for everything Hunger Games, I’ll never forget you.
(Silently whistles and does the three finger salute)

