I really wanted to see this movie. It had a lot of award buzz from the beginning and I wanted to know what all the fuss was about. The film wasn’t released until 29th January 2016 in the uk, convenient for Oscars season.


This is based on a true story surrounding the Bosten Globe. It focuses on howthey were able to uncover the truth about child molestation within the Catholic Church.

This film makes you appreciate reporters. They have to make sure that they get all the evidence that can help with their case, otherwise it might bring them down. In this situation, they had to go up against the Catholic Church, the biggest institute in the world, to show that priests are abusing children.

The ensemble cast were outstanding. There wasn’t really any standout performance but they were all incredible together. It’s really interesting how the characters did their research in order to find their evidence.

There are a few lines said that really stuck with me. The most important one is the line that Mark Ruffulo’s character says. He says that he used to enjoy going to church as a kid but stopped because of life. He always wanted to go back but because of the accusations, he can’t. He can’t imagine why he would go back to a place where they are supposed to help people but have been abusing children and covering it up. After the movie, my friend asked me if the accusations put me off going to church because I’m a Catholic but I don’t go anymore. I mentioned that particular scene and said that like Ruffulo’s character, I enjoyed going as a kid but stopped because of life. I always wanted to go back but I couldn’t because the money that they used for the poor was either put into their own pockets or used to make more churches. My viewpoint may not be similar to the character’s viewpoint but it shows that something you believe in and trusted when you were young had all these lies and covered it up that you realise it is not what it seems.

The church misused and deceived people. They also took advantage of innocent children and scarred them for life that some of them didn’t even make it in the world.

This film is long at times. It is one that you really have to concentrate and some plots are boring but they have to be there to get the point across.

In the end, I am glad that I watched this. Even though my choice of movie to win an Oscar is Room (because it is my favourite), I believe that Spotlight will win and rightfully so. It’s incredible. This film gets an 8/10.

